Tags

, ,

 Holy cow!! I can’t believe it’s been since March that I posted on my blog! After several people saying “when are you going to post again” I figured can’t keep you all waiting…even if it’s only 3 of you!  I truly do appreciate the following of my blog and genuine interest in my business so thank you! I was very busy in April which was really good. Emily and I (my partner in crime) did the Alameda show Antiques by the bay…total bust at least for me.  I am still not sure if I want to sell there again we’ll see.  Also we had our local Antique Faire which our store Summer Cottage Antiques did great overall.   But I wasn’t overloaded in sales that’s ok though as long as it was a succesful faire and it was.  But as we winded down to the end of school (which came early this year end of May) it just got busier and busier.  Every mom I talk to lately is saying the same thing…”How can it be that we are busier than when kids are in school?”  Somehow I think the freedom of routine gives us the illusion we have more time.  But in reality we are just adding more into the same slot of time at least that’s my theory.

So what have I been doing?  I have continued working on pieces some I like, some I love and some ehh not so much. It’s interesting to me what people will buy.  I have learned that I don’t have to love or even like what sells as long as is sells.  That’s the point right? Well yes and no.  I have struggled to figure out what is truly my style and stay true to that.  Although there are times when you are at the mercy of what you can find to sell or how a piece turns out.  Inevitably you end up with product in your space that really aren’t your thing. There have been times and sometimes weeks that I have been in my space and felt that it was anything but my style.  Either way it’s all a learning process and at the end of the day I am having fun and truly enjoy what I get to do.  Making a great income would be the cherry on top not there yet but I have faith!

With that said I am excited to say that I will be a retailer for a new paint line that is coming out very soon!  I don’t have all the kinks worked out so I’ll fill you in once it’s finalized. I want to do some barn sales that’s on the list and look into some other venues as well.  I like to see things move more quickly so I have to find a way to make that happen.  That’s the latest and I will not disappear for months pinky swear:)  I know how much I enjoy seeing the before and after process so here’s a few for you to enjoy!  Let me know what you think.

This brown dresser I picked up for next to nothing at a local recycle center aka…….    The Dump

It is just a really solid piece and it sat in the garage for a long time….why?   I just didn’t know what I wanted to do with it.  So I experimented a little let me know what you think.

I know this isn’t the greatest picture but I was trying to stage in my garage and not get the yucky floor.  I do like how it turned out it’s different and it was fun to experiment.

This a desk I also did very sweet could be a vanity too!

I promise I will keep you updated about the new paint line and will post more pictures of furniture too!

Blessings!

Gen

