Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

It’s time to reveal the pretty dresser I couldn’t wait to paint.  I bought it on craigslist and had it stored in my garage awaiting MMS milk paint.  I have to tell you I really wanted it to be different and stand out….I just felt it deserved that.  I consulted my bestie and we agreed that I should try french enamel blue.  I used the bonding agent because this piece was pretty slick and didn’t want to worry about too much chipping.  Wasn’t the look I wanted.  It painted beautifully I like the consistency that the paint takes on with the bonding agent.  When she was all french enameled I stood back and it just was a little too blue…actually a lot!  Now what?  You might be seeing a pattern here…there is I kinda just wing it and figure it’ll all work out and it mostly does.  I have only taken one piece straight to the donation truck so far.  It was one that was  just ugly and I painted it end result ugly still with paint.  Back to the dresser I decided to do a wash of shutter grey over it.  What’s a wash?  I just made the paint much more watery so it doesn’t fully cover just peeks color through it.  This was the ticket and I sighed relief.  I painted all the little details in ironstone white and used all the original hardware.  In the end she is beautiful!

This is the before….

After…..

I will continue to apologize for my pictures there is really terrible lighting upstairs at the shop where my space is…again sorry

Gotta love the fire extinguisher in the mirror 🙂

And lastly Miss Mustard Seeds book is AWESOME!

 I’m not quite finished reading it yet I am relishing in every little bit.  It is available to purchase at Summer Cottage Antiques in my space.  I will share with you my thoughts on the book and I am working on a very exciting surprise you won’t want to miss!!  Stay tuned……

Blessings,
Gen
