Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I’m not ready even though I’ve been glittering ornaments the last two days.  I don’t know I still feel like it was 4th of July just last week. I didn’t pull out a thing for Halloween this year…I always decorate for holidays.  I haven’t even thought about Thanksgiving who’s coming? What were eating?…a turkey and pie at least. I am thankful don’t get me wrong I have a lot to be thankful for this year.  And I have really tried to not be that “mom” that says “I hate Christmas!” and trust me I don’t.  But there are times I wonder why we feel that nagging dread of all the to do’s.  I have loved the house we live in for the last 3 1/2 years we rent but its a great house.  I have always been so excited about decorating for the holidays waiting for just the right inspiration.  But I have to confess I’m not all that excited this year.  Is it that I am working this year and just can’t seem to get caught up?….probably.  I think it’s a combination of things.  My big boys are just that big…Isaac almost 20 and Marky 18 and it just feels like my family shrunk and it did…they just aren’t those excited little boys anymore.  My daughter Marisa is 13 and my little guy Ben is almost 8 and it just feels so different.  My daughter is typical  teen clothes, and girly accessories on her list.  Ben made a list mostly for our little dog….he is so sweet.  On the bright side this makes it pretty simple doesn’t it?  So I may be adopting an idea here I have heard of families doing buying 4 things.  Something you want,something you need, something to wear and something to read sounds easy enough. But really this isn’t the whole reason we celebrate anyway at least for our family.  Our Savior Jesus Christ was born it’s a time to rejoice and honor the greatest gift of all!  And who knows my house may just end up bursting with decorations once the spirit hits me it always does we’ll see….  What’s your plans this year?  Simple? All out and listening to carols since October?  Share your thoughts and traditions I’d love to hear them!

Blessings,
Gen
